Poem in my Pocket (A Day Late!)

 

pocket_logo2Somehow I missed this, likely the auto-pilot function again! Anyway, yesterday I tuned in

Kelly Writers House at the University of Penns...

Kelly Writers House at the University of Pennsylvania (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

to the Wallace Stevens reading and discussion at Kelly Writers House, which Prof. Al Filreis has now posted on Jacket2 here, and which I am sure you will enjoy. Some great commentary by the KWH group and by my fellow ModPolians who were lucky enough to attend:

I didn’t catch the title of the first poem at the beginning (The Plain Sense of Things shown here at Poets.org), but leafing through my Collected Wallace Stevens, I happened on The Poem That Took the Place of a Mountain (below). It had resonance for me, and serendipitously was the second poem to be discussed! So you could say that I carried this one in my pocket yesterday. I even wrote a poem of my own inspired by the two poems from the webcast.
Wallace Stevens

Wallace Stevens (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Poem That Took The Place Of A Mountain

There it was, word for word,
The poem that took the place of a mountain.

He breathed its oxygen,
Even when the book lay turned in the dust of his table.

It reminded him how he had needed
A place to go to in his own direction,

How he had recomposed the pines,
Shifted the rocks and picked his way among clouds,

For the outlook that would be right,
Where he would be complete in an unexplained completion:

The exact rock where his inexactness
Would discover, at last, the view toward which they had edged,

Where he could lie and, gazing down at the sea,
Recognize his unique and solitary home.

Wallace Stevens
2 thoughts on “Poem in my Pocket (A Day Late!)

Leave a Reply

